Pathum Nissanka breaks Multiple Records with Blistering ODI Double Century! Here’s the List of Players Who Scored Double Centuries in ODIs

Pathum Nissanka scored ODI double-hundred. He became first SL batter to score 200. He became the third fastest to score 200 in ODIs

Must read

Pathum Nissanka made history by becoming the first Sri Lankan batsman to achieve a double century in ODI cricket. His remarkable feat occurred during the first ODI against Afghanistan in Pallekele, where he reached the milestone in just 136 balls. He is the third fastest to reach a double ton in ODIs, surpassing Chris Gayle’s previous record set in 138 balls.

Also Read: Pathum Nissanka Family

Nissanka’s innings saw him breaking Sanath Jayasuriya’s long-standing record for the highest individual score by a Sri Lankan batter in ODIs, achieved with a boundary off the second ball of the final over, finishing unbeaten on 210 runs from 139 deliveries, inclusive of 20 fours and eight sixes.

pathum nissanka

However, Ishan Kishan currently holds the record for the fastest double century in ODI cricket, achieved in just 126 balls against Bangladesh in 2022. Following closely is Glenn Maxwell, who reached the milestone in 128 balls against Afghanistan during the recent ODI World Cup.

Also Read: Pathum Nissanka Wife

Nissanka’s achievement places him among the elite group of 10 batters who have scored double centuries in ODIs, with Rohit Sharma leading the pack with three such innings. Other notable players who have breached the 200-run mark in ODI cricket include Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Martin Guptill, Fakhar Zaman, Chris Gayle, Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, and Glenn Maxwell.

List of Players Who Scored Double Centuries in ODIs

PlayerTeamTotal Balls TakenTotal Runs Scored4s6sOpponentLocationYear
Sachin TendulkarIndia147200*253South AfricaGwalior2010
Virender SehwagIndia140219257West IndiesIndore2011
Rohit SharmaIndia1562091216AustraliaBengaluru2013
Rohit SharmaIndia151264339Sri LankaKolkata2014
Chris GayleWest Indies1382151016ZimbabweCanberra2015
Martin GuptillNew Zealand153237*2411West IndiesWellington2015
Rohit SharmaIndia151208*1312Sri LankaMohali2017
Fakhar ZamanPakistan148210*245ZimbabweHarare2018
Ishan KishanIndia1262102410BangladeshChattogram2022
Shubman GillIndia145208199New ZealandHyderabad2023
Glenn MaxwellAustralia128201*2110AfghanistanMumbai
Pathum NissankaSri Lanka139210*208Afghanistan Pallekele 


India vs USA T20 Head To Head Records and Stats

India and USA have faced each other in 0 T20 matches so far. India has won 0, while the USA has won 0 matches...

Latest article